My name is E, and I have curly hair.

Hello!

I have decided (today) to embrace my naturally curly hair.  This is a big step for me.  Since middle school, I have been painfully aware of my poofy, frizzy, unruly, curly hair.  And I wasn’t just blessed with curly hair, I was blessed with A LOT of curly hair.  It takes me 30 minutes to blow dry it and another 45 minutes to an hour to straighten it.  I envy the girls who have managed to “get” their hair and make it look beautiful and effortless.  Most of the time, mine is pulled back because I can’t stand to deal with it.

So, today, I decided to try and “get” my hair.  No more forcing it to be something it’s not.  A quick Google search on “curly hair” later, I found naturallycurly.com.  I discovered I am a 2b/c–more wavy that curly, but I definitely have some curl.  Upon further investigation, I kept seeing phrases like “no poo” and “sulfate free.” Because I am actually a 5 year old, I thought “no poo” was hilarious and clicked the link.  It had nothing to do with poop.  It was referring to a method of hair care especially beneficial for curly/wavy hair.  The “no poo” is the cool way to say “no shampoo” method (also called the Curly Girl Method).  The method is just the way it sounds–you don’t use shampoo.  First it was freaky and I was convinced all the “it works!” testimonials were living with dirty hair–not cool.  I read some more into the method and found it actually made a lot of sense–and you did end up with a clean hair/scalp.

I Googled “Curly Girl Method” and found some nice step-by-step instructions on how to start the (Curly Girl Method).

And, that was that!  I have decided to become a true “Curly Girl” and forget shampoo to bring out what I hope to be gorgeous and manageable curls!

I invite anyone who may stumble upon this blog to join me/watch my progress through the Curly Girl Method!

Leave a Reply

