The Glorious Wonders of Shampoo

Internet! I’m back! I know you missed me loads, but this girl has a busy life.

So, I am half-way through my second week doing the Curly Girl method. As I’m sure you have guessed from the title of this entry, I used shampoo. I had to. My hair was actually disgusting.  It was greasy and thick from products and my head itched and I was not a happy girl Monday through Wednesday this week.

I had to shampoo my hair to get rid of the product build-up. But, thanks to my research, I was able to make a smart purchase–a sulfate free shampoo (see what I bought in my Products section)! Yay!!  This way, I could cleanse my hair without stripping it of all the natural oils I have worked so hard to build up in the last two weeks. The bubbles were glorious. I do miss bubbles on my head in my showers.

Anyways, my scalp felt great and my hair felt not gross.  I dried it with a t-shirt and put in my usual amount of gel and let it go from there.

I was interested to see how my hair would feel once dried because I had used shampoo. I could definitely tell a difference! My hair felt drier and was quite a bit frizzier than it had been in the past week.  It also wasn’t nearly as soft like previous days. I took these as really great signs that this method is working!! Clearly, I had taken away some of the natural oils when I shampooed and could see the effects on my hair once it dried.

I will go back to co-washing daily, but I think I will definitely have to modify the Curly Girl method to allow me to shampoo once a week…I will have to if my hair keeps getting gross.

Peace out, curly haired brethren.

Leave a comment